Kotoko register 29 players for 2016/17 season

Kotoko will storm the 2016/17 season with 29 strong players comprising four goalkeepers, eleven defenders, nine midfielders and five strikers. This was released to Kotoko Express at press time yesterday by PLB/Accra Representative, Thomas Boakye Agyeman.

A cursory look at the squad reveals that ten of the registered players are new signifying drop compared to last season where Kotoko had 14 new players. Nineteen players (19) have been retained from last season.

The new arrivals are young goalie, Danlad Ibrahim; defender Awudu Nafiu; midfielders Ollenu Ashitey, Prince Aquah, Isaac Quansah, Seth Opare and Kwame Boahene as well as strikers – Abass Mohammed, Baba Mahama and Yakubu Mohammed. The players are brimming with confidence to team up with the old forces and bring success to Kotoko.

Meanwhile, experienced goalie Isaac Amoako and midfielder Jackson Owusu who missed last season due to health concerns are back into the team. Isaac Amoako underwent a knee surgery at the Korle Bu Teaching Hospital in November 2015. He was accordingly expelled from the registered team for last season.

Jackson Owusu on the other hand sustained a severe shin injury six days to the start of the league on February 20, 2016. The good news is that, the duo are back to full form and will be influential in Kotoko’s quest to be champions. Center back, Abeiku Ainooson was loaned to Dreams FC in the second round of last season after he returned from Sudanese side Al Hilal. He is also back to the Porcupine fold and for the red jersey. Midfielder, Michael Akuffu had a stint abroad last season but he’s also back in the team.

Below is the full list of the 29 registered players for the 2016/17 season.

Goalkeepers: Ernest Sowah, Felix Annan, Isaac Amoako and Danlad Ibrahim.

Defenders: Ahmed Adams, Henry Ohene Brenya, Eric Donkor, Evans Quao, Amos Frimpong, Richard Osei Agyeman, Edwin Tuffour, Samuel Abeiku Ainooson, Atta Kusi, Emmanuel Asante and Awudu Nafiu.

Midfielders: Frank Sarfo Gyamfi, Emmanuel Gyamfi, Jackson Owusu, Ollenu Ashitey, Isaac Quansah, Prince Acquah, Michael Akuffu, Seth Opare and Kwame Boahene.

Strikers: Obed Owusu, Kwame Boateng, Abass Mohammed, Baba Mahama and Yakubu Mohammed.






Source: asantekotokosc

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button