Kyei Mensah-Bonsu confirmed as Majority leader, Adwoa Sarfo is deputy

The Member of Parliament for Suame constituency, Osei Kyei Mensah-Bonsu, has been confirmed as the majority leader for the next parliament, and he will have Sarah Adjoa Sarfo serve as his deputy, the first female in that position.

Professor Mike Oquaye has also been named as the Speaker of Parliament, while Joseph Osei-Owusu, the Member of Parliament for Bekwai constituency, has been named as the First Deputy Speaker.

Sources say the National council of the party unanimously settled for the leaders at its meeting today [Thursday].

The 59-year-old Osei Kyei Mensah-Bonsu, has served in parliament for over 12 years, and has been the leader of the minority New Patriotic Party (NPP) in parliament for about 4 years.

His deputy, Sarah Adwoa Sarfo, 35, is the Member of Parliament for Dome Kwabenya constituency and has been in Parliament since 2012.

Kwasi Ameyaw Cheremeh, the Member of Parliament for Sunyani East constituency, has also been named as the Chief Whip of the incoming majority side.

Source: citifmonline

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button