Bawumia declared winner of NPP flagbearer election

Dr Mahamudu Bawumia, Vice president

Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia has emerged victorious in the New Patriotic Party (NPP) flagbearer election.

The announcement of Dr. Bawumia’s victory was done by the Director of Elections at the Electoral Commission, Dr. Serebour Quaicoe at the Accra Sports Stadium.

According to the official results, Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia won with 118,210 votes, representing 61.47% of the total votes cast.

His closest contender, Kennedy Ohene Agyapong, secured the second position with 71,996 votes, which accounted for 35.52% of the total valid votes.

Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto garnered 1,459 votes, whiles the fourth contender got 781 votes.

Party leaders have been making statements as have losing aspirants with the major theme centering around unity of purpose and the need to charge towards the 2024 polls with the view to retaining political power.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button