Osei Kyei Mensah-Bonsu to be appointed head of Bawumia’s policy and manifesto team

Majority Leader and Minister for Parliamentary Affairs, Osei Kyei Mensah-Bonsu, has been penciled down by the New Patriotic Party (NPP) for appointment as the head of the party’s election  2024 policy and manifesto team.

Mr Osei Kyei Mensah-Bonsu has served in parliamentary leadership for the NPP for a total of 23 years and 2 months. During this period, he served as Majority Leader for 15 years and 2 months, deputy leader for 4 years and chief whip for 4 years.

Mensah-Bonsu is expected to leave his Majority Leader position to take up the vital role of leading “Team Bawumia” to fashion out the NPP’s manifesto around the vision of the party’s presidential candidate, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia, which will in turn, be sold to the people of Ghana ahead of the 7 December 2024 general elections.

New Majority Leader

The role of Majority Leader following the exit of Mr Mensah-Bonsu from the role is likely to be filled by Alexander Afenyo Markin, the current Deputy Majority Leader and member of Parliament for Efutu constituency in the Centrsl Region. Being in his early 40s and hailing from the Central Region of the country, Afenyo Markin’s choice as Majority Leader is largely seen as a strategic one within the rank and file of the New Patriotic Party, (NPP).

Other political analysts also point out that with the NPP vice presidential running mate likely to come from the Ashanti Region and with the NDC’s John Mahama also set to announce professor Jane Naana Opoku-Agyemang, who is from the Central Region, as his running mate, the swing nature of Central Region, especially when it comes to parliamentary seats, makes Afenyo Markin’s elevation one of the most strategic decisions the NPP would make ahead of the 2024 presidential and parliamentary elections.

Team Bawumia

The NPP on Monday (19 February) released a statement naming the approved who will spearhead the party’s 2024 national campaign ahead of 2024 general elections.

The party in the statement signed by the general secretary, Justin Frimpong Kodua, said a national campaign co-ordinating committee (NCCC) which shall oversee the work of all other committees shall be chaired by Mahamudu Bawumia, the NPP’s 2024 presidential candidate.

Notable names who will form the party’s campaign advisory committee include the former president John Kufuor, President Akufo-Addo, Freddie Blay, Elizabeth Ohene, Joyce Aryee and Mrs Akosua Frema Osei Opare.

Other names on the various campaign committees are Dan Botwe (campaign chairman), Fredrick Opare Ansah (campaign manager), Kwabena Agyepong (a senior campaign aide), and Hawa Koomson.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button