Black Stars to battle Ethiopia, S Leone & Kenya for AFCON 2019

Ghana has been drawn in Group F in qualifiers for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations to be staged in Cameroon.

The draw, which was held on Thursday, pitched the Black Stars against Ethiopia, Sierra Leone and Kenya.
Forty-eight teams were put in 12 groups of four. Group winners will automatically qualify for the tournament while four best second-placed sides also join them for the tourney.
If Cameroon, paired in Group B, win its group, the other teams in the group – Morocco, Malawi and Comoros/Mauritius – will be ranked without recourse to results against the Indomitable Lions.

There are some mouthwatering clashes to look forward to. Nigeria’s Super Eagles and South Africa’s Bafana Bafana are in the same group while North African rivalry between Egypt and Tunisia will be rekindled in Group J.

Below are the 12 groups:

Group A: Senegal, Equatorial Guinea, Sudan and Sao Tome/Madagascar

Group B: Cameroon, Morocco, Malawi and Comoros/Mauritius

Group C: Mali, Gabon, Burundi and Djibouti/South Sudan

Group D: Algeria, Togo, Benin and Gambia

Group E: Nigeria, South Africa, Libya and Seychelles

Group F: Ghana, Ethiopia, Sierra Leone and Kenya

Group G: DR Congo, Congo, Zimbabwe and Liberia

Group H: Cote d’Ivoire, Guinea, Central Africa Rep. and Rwanda

Group I: Burkina Faso, Angola, Botswana and Mauritania

Group J: Tunisia, Egypt, Niger and Swaziland

Group K: Zambia, Mozambique, Guinea-Bissau and Namibia

Group L: Cape Verde, Uganda, Tanzania and Lesotho

Source: 3news

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button