Parliament fumes at Odikro over performance ranking

Parliament has cautioned individuals and organizations against ranking the activities and performance of its members.

The caution follows the ranking of Ghanaian lawmakers by an organization called Odikro.

In its ranking published January 24, 2017, Odikro rated outspoken New Patriotic Party Member of Parliament for Assin Central, Ken Agyapong, among the 50 worst performing members of the country’s sixth parliament.

His colleague lawmaker Sarah Adwoa Safo of Dome Kwabenya and the former Deputy Central regional Minister Queenstar Pokua Sawyerr were also listed among the worst performers in a latest report released by the STAR-Ghana funded project.

The MP for Old Tafo, Anthony Akoto Osei was adjudged the overall best MP with a total score of 94.12%. James Klutse Avedzi 93.39%; Joseph Yieleh Chirech 92.21%; Papa Owusu-Ankomah 92.17%; and Alexander Afenyo-Markin 91.03% followed in that order.

The worst performer in the Sixth Parliament is Evans Paul Aidoo who scored 11.50%; Queenstar Pokua Sawyerr 16.98%; Dr. Nii Oakley Quaye-Kumah 17.09%; Ken Ohene Agyapong 18.29%; Dr. Mustapha Ahmed 18.60%

According to the report, 19 Members of Parliament never spoke on the floor throughout their four years in the lawmaking Chamber.

They are made up of 16 MPs of the National Democratic Congress (who were then the Majority) and three (3) MPs of the New Patriotic Party.

Contributing to a motion for the adoption of the constitution of various committees of the house, Effutu lawmaker Alexander Afenyo-Markin called on the  leadership  of the House to act since the development is seriously affecting the morale of members.

Majority leader Osei Kyei Mensa Bonsu in response ordered a stop of rankings of lawmakers.






Source: starrfmonline

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button