Dr Akoto Osei, Dan Botwe to be vetted on Monday

The second batch of ministerial nominees of President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo is expected to be vetted from Monday by Parliament’s Appointments Committee. In all, 12 nominees will be vetted from Monday, January 30 to Thursday, February 2.

Minister-designate for Monitoring and Evaluation Dr Anthony Akoto Osei, who is also Member of Parliament (MP) for Old Tafo Constituency, has been penned down as the first to be vetted. He will be followed by Otiko Afisa Djaba, who has been nominated for the Ministry of Gender, Children and Social Protection.
To cap the day on Monday will be MP for Okere, Dan Kwaku Botwe, who will be in the vetting seat as President Akufo-Addo’s nominee for Regional Reorganisation and Development.
Tuesday, January 31 will see energy expert John Peter Amewu vetted as Minister-designate for Lands and Natural Resources. Minister-designate for Employment and Labour Relations Ignatius Baffour-Awuah will follow with Samuel Atta Akyea, MP for Abuakwa South, vetted as the final nominee for the day.
He has been nominated for the Ministry of Works and Housing. Wednesday, February 1 will have three nominees facing the Committee, which is chaired by First Deputy Speaker Joseph Osei Owusu.
Ursula Owusu-Ekuful, Joseph Kofi Adda and Kwasi Amoako-Atta will be vetted for the ministerial positions of Communications, Sanitation and Water Resources and Roads and Highways respectively.
The final day for the second batch vetting will have Kwaku Ofori Asiamah as the first to take the seat. He will be vetted on Transport, where he will head to if approved.
Renown heart surgeon Professor Kwabena Frimpong Boateng will be next as he has been nominated for the Ministry of Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation. Last but not least for the second batch will be the nominee for the railways sector.
Minister-designate for Railways Development Joe Ghartey, who is also MP for Essikado Ketan Constituency, will be vetted. Already, 13 have been vetted by Seventh Parliament’s Appointments Committee. Curiously, all have been approved.
Source: 3news
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button