Full list of NPP MPs who lost or retained their parliamentary bids

Disappointment and surprise marked the New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) parliamentary primaries on Saturday, January 27, as several prominent incumbents saw their bids for re-election dashed.

In a major upset, Minister of Sanitation and Water Resources, Freda Prempeh, was ousted in the Tano North constituency. Challenger Dr. Gideon Boako, Spokesperson for the Vice President and NPP flagbearer, Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, cruised to victory with 444 votes against Prempeh’s 221.

Similarly, Dome-Kwabenya witnessed a stunning defeat for Adwoa Safo, the outspoken Minister for Gender, Children and Social Protection. Mike Ocquaye Jr., son of former Speaker Mike Ocquaye, secured a convincing win with 1194 votes, leaving Safo with only 328.

The Abuakwa North constituency also saw a change of guard, with incumbent Gifty Twum-Ampofo narrowly losing to Nana Ampaw Addo-Frempong. Popularly known as “Buffalo,” Addo-Frempong garnered 222 votes compared to Twum-Ampofo’s 202.

Beyond these significant upsets, another high-profile casualty was Deputy Minister of Health, Tina Gifty Mensah. In the Weija Gbawe constituency, she was defeated by Jerry Ahmed Shab, who polled 786 votes to Mensah’s 361.

These unexpected defeats sent shockwaves through the NPP, and raised questions about voter sentiment and future party dynamics.

Minister for Public Enterprises, Joseph Cudjoe lost the Effia primary in the Western Region to Isaac Nyarko Boamah, a financial analyst

Sheila Bartels lost the Ablekuma North poll with 637 votes to Akua Afriyie who polled 756.

The casualties so far:

  1. Joseph Cudjoe- Effia constituency
  2. Ama pomaa Boateng-Juaben
  3. Sheila Bartels-Ablekuma North
  4. Moses Anim-Trobu
  5. Freda Prempeh- Tano North
  6. John Benam Jabaale-Zabzugu
  7. Tina Naa Ayerley Mensah- Weija Gbawe
  8. Dr. Adomako Kissi- Anyaa Sowutuom
  9. Eugene Boakye Antwi-Subin
  10. Yves Hanson Nortey- Tema Central
  11. Bright Wireko Brobbey- Twifo Hemang lower Denkyira
  12. Akwasi Afrifa Mensah- Amasaman
  13. Elvis Donkor- Abura Asibu Kwamankese
  14. Erickson Abekah- Shama
  15. Akwasi Darko Boateng- Bosome Freho
  16. Adwoa Safo- Dome Kwabenya
  17. Mahama Asem Seini – Daboya
  18. Kojo Asante -Suhum
  19. John Osei Frimpong -Abirem
  20. Amankwah Asiamah-Fanteakwa North
  21. Kofi Okyere Agyekum- Fanteakwa South
  22. Gifty Twum Ampofo- Abuakwa North n
  23. Hon. Collins Augustine Ntim, Offinso North.
  24. Hajia Abudu Lariba..Walewale
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button